top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarine Bado

Potato&Lentil Cake

Updated: Jun 6, 2018

As I am currently preparing an article on my trip to Bulk Barn store, I have decided to try in a recipe, the Red Lentil flour I got from there. I have never eaten Lentils while living in Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire). It's only when I moved to Casablanca (Morocco) that I've discovered this protein. And Yes with all these Moroccan spices, I loved it! My culinary experience was pretty pleasant in Morocco... I will keep that story for an other time.

Back to the Lentils! I was very happy when I learned during my pregnancy that Lentils are very rich in Iron, therefore good for babies. Up until 10 months old, he was happy eating it. But since he does no longer allow me to feed him with a spoon, we are back to square one!

I have tried this ''yummy'', ''kid-friendly'' recipe hoping he would love it. Well, he did not liked it the first time. After a second attempt the next day, he finally enjoyed it LOL(oufff). So here for you my ''Potato & Lentil'' Cake.

You will need :

-4 medium potatoes ( I took the golden ones because it is sweeter and good for mashed potatoes)

-1/2 cup of red Lentil flour

-1 cup of Parmesan cheese (or any cheese really)

-1/2 of a shallot (mashed)

-a handful of spinach ( optional )

-1/4 cup of butter or margarine

-1 tsp of baking powder

-1/2 tsp of salt & pepper

1/8 tsp of baking soda


Precook the potatoes in boiled water( I piled off the skin). In a bowl , mash the precooked potatoes and add the lentil flour mixed with all the dry ingredients. Mix it vigorously so there are no lumps. Add the melted butter, the 2 eggs and the mashed shallot. Please make sure the mixture has cooled off before adding the eggs. Mix everything again then add the cheese and spinach. Gently fold the mixture to incorporate all the ingredients.

In a greased pan, over medium to low heat , take an ice cream scoop to serve the Batter and gently press with a fork to form the patties. Cook it for 1 min on each side and Voilà . Bon appétit







Photo Credit: Carine Bado

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page