top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarine Bado

Creamy Rotini with Kale

Updated: Jun 13, 2018

Although Kale is well known as a ''super vegetable '', we don't commonly find it at any local grocery stores in Côte d'Ivoire. Living here, I was having a hard time incorporating this vegetable in my cooking, because of the bitter taste. When ''Monsieur Pichon'' was a baby, I could throw some leaves in his smoothie and he loved it. Now, good luck trying to get him to eat anything else but bread, as I said in my previous post. Thankfully, on his good days he likes pasta. So I have made this ''creamy rotini'' recipe with kale and guess what ? That day, he finished his whole plate. Yay! I got a "winner", well I thought. The next day, in my excitement I offered him the same meal; he did not want a piece of it LOL. I ended up eating it myself and loved it. Now, we can call ourselves: ''kale lovers''. Here for you, my "Creamy Rotini" with Kale. You will need:

-rotini pasta

-1 cup of heavy cream

-1 cup of grated parmesan

-1 cup of mixed frozen vegetables ( Kale , peas, corn)

-1 cup of ground chicken ( optional)

-1/2 cup of olive oil

-1/2 tbsp of seasoning salt ( keep it simple with salt and pepper if you'd like )


Precook the pasta in boiled water. In a heated pan, add the olive oil and the ground chicken. Stir for five minutes, then add the seasoning salt and all the vegetables. Keep stirring for five more minutes then add the cream . Bring everything to simmer for two minutes, add the precooked rotini, the cheese and voilà . For more ''creaminess'', add a teaspoon of butter when serving. Bon appetit !




Photo credit : Carine Bado


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page