top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarine Bado

Whelp...He is a 'picky' eater!

Updated: Jun 6, 2018

If I have not told you yet, I am the mother of a fifteen month old toddler; who seems to be eating nothing else but bread. His nickname is ''Monsieur Pichon". Don't ask me where it comes from, to be honest I do not know LOL. Some days he likes a new meal, the next day he doesn't. If anyone else can relate, is this a phase? Maybe? All I want is to make sure he gets the good nutrients, necessary for his development. I add some healthy snacks to support his diet but with a cooking background totally different from the Canadian one, I am struggling. Growing up in Côte d'Ivoire, I never worried about the quality of the food I ate.

I could easily find local, fresh and organic ingredients at a very low cost everywhere. Plus, everybody can afford a cook and a nanny; making cooking less stressful. See, Africa isn't always about starving kids, wars, political issues...The negative image always portrayed by the media.

Winnipeg is a small town, I can't always find all I need in the couple ethnic stores we have.

It prompted me to evolve in my cooking style. Since I have been working on a book for the past two years, I've decided to add some recipes for toddlers and make ''Monsieur Pichon'' try them. I might find an healthy "winner" that he would also enjoy eating. With a limited budget and not enough time on my clock, the recipes are very basic. Let's start with a simple Banana Muffin on the recipe section.

Bye for now...

Photo Credit : Carine Bado
just found out he loves peaches..

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page