top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarine Bado

A trip to Bulk Barn

I always thought having a healthy diet would rhyme with spending a lot, until I discovered Bulk Barn. In case you do not know, Bulk Barn is a retail food store. Most items are not packaged so you can scoop yourself what you need. For a good price, you will find all kinds of flour, baking ingredients, grains, nuts, dried fruits, bake-ware and much more.

The "healthy eating" trend being on the rise, I need to step up my game. As an immigrant, my definition of ''healthy eating'' may vary from yours. Vegan, Vegetarian or Pro-organic, one thing we can all agree on, is that "processed" food is not always the best choice. Please do not take offense in this statement. With all due respect, everybody is free to make their own choices, I fully understand. Even I, myself do not cook everyday. For me though, I tend to lean towards an other alternative. The reason being, I barely know 1/4 of the ingredients listed on the product labels. By cooking from scratch, I can at least control what goes into my meal. Not only is it a cultural habit, it is also a good way to start eating healthy. Furthermore, since I became a mother, I have decided to go the extra mile. Squeezing my budget so I can afford to sometimes buy organic, finding new ways to build that ''healthy eating'' habit for my son. Pleasantly surprised by my trip to Bulk Barn, I got for $30.00 CAD, a full basket of natural ingredients listed below:

- chickpea flour

-Red lentil flour

-Black bean flour

-Coconut flour

-Almond flour ( the most expensive)

- Unsweetened coconut flakes


I started with one pound of everything for a first try. Not bad éh? It might be on the ''pricey'' side depending of the size of your family, to be honest. But the point of this post is to break the habit of having preconceived ideas. We hear something and we take it as ''The Bible" because everybody thinks so. Do your research and make an informed decision, is what I would always recommend.

While I am working on new recipes, if you know a cheaper "healthy" food store in Winnipeg, please hook a sister up LOL! Comment, share or like. Bye for now...



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page